What to eat for the gluten-free diet

Do you have to or do you want to follow a gluten-free diet and you don't know exactly where to start and what to leave in the pantry that you used to use? Find out in this article what foods are safe for you, what are the risky options and what you should definitely exclude from your shopping list.

 

Gluten-free products are sought after and consumed by three categories of people. On the one hand, we are talking about those who suffer from celiac disease and who have no choice, because this ingredient affects the efficiency of nutrient absorption in the intestines.

In another group are those with non-celiac sensitivity, who have mild symptoms, such as bloating or discomfort in the abdominal area, in which case the focus on gluten-free products is preventive and for body comfort. And last but not least, these foods are also preferred by those who do not have any problems with gluten consumption, but who want to eat healthier.

No matter where you fit, you can find out from this article what are some of the products you can consume when you want to avoid gluten.

 

Meat, fish, eggs

If you want or have to follow a gluten-free diet, it is good to know from the beginning that you can consume most traditional sources of animal protein. For example, you are allowed to eat fresh eggs, ham or ham, fish and in general, almost all types of meat without additives and preservatives.

Be careful, however, you are not allowed to prepare meat, of any type, in breaded format, covered with flour, or accompanied by sauces that include gluten-free flour in the recipe. Also, semi-prepared fish specialties are prohibited, such as packages with surimi or lobster, sausages, sausages and any product that involves additives and a content that is less clear and easy to verify.

 

What to eat for  the gluten-free diet

Dairy products

The list of products that you can introduce in the diet, without stress, includes milk, yogurts, cheeses and cream, but, be careful, natural, with as few additives as possible. It is risky for those with celiac disease, to be avoided for those with sensitivity and optional for those who diet for healthy eating reasons, consumption of puddings, creams, milk shakes and other milk-based drinks, canned whipped cream spreadable. We refer here to the benefits of the products available in stores, not to the homemade pudding from known and controlled ingredients.

 

Greens and vegetables

You could say that you are free with greens, but this is not the case. You can really eat, without limits and worries, natural greens, whether they are fresh, dried, cooked or frozen. The risk arises when you buy semi-finished products or the vegetables are prepared at the restaurant or at home, but not by you, and the food may contain a sauce that has gluten or any addition with this substance.

Obviously, those mixtures that involve the use of cereals, or cooking with breadcrumbs, flour or bran, so any kind of vegetable breads, are completely forbidden.

 

Fruits and sweets

In the case of fruits, things are similar to vegetables. You can eat any fruit as long as it is natural and simple, or you know exactly what the preparation in which it was used contains. You are not allowed to eat mixtures of dried fruits with cereals, or dried fruits that are covered with a thin layer of flour obtained from various cereals.

In terms of sweets, the safest for a person suffering from celiac disease are honey and sugar. You can consume, but taking a lower or higher risk, and: jellies, chewing gum, chocolate, candy, ice cream. You are not allowed cookies, canapés, chocolate with cereals, eugenics, sticks, etc.

 

Cereals

Surprisingly, the list of cereals you can eat is generous enough to easily adapt your diet to your preferences. Thus, you can eat rice, corn, millet and buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth, carob, sesame, tapioca, cassava, potatoes.

What to eat for  the gluten-free diet

Also because of the additives that you cannot control and check with precision, potato chips and popcorn are considered risky, which may have gluten particles taken from the production line or included in the powder used for flavoring. Similarly, it is better to avoid the consumption of extruded rice and corn drinks.

Wholly prohibited are wheat and wheat starch, oats, barley, rye, bulgur and couscous, graham flour, semolina, spelled flour, any product that includes at least one of the above cereals, even if in small quantities. add barley beer, breakfast cereals and muesli formulas, pastas, spicy or sweet products, which contain among the ingredients any of the cereals mentioned above.

Fortunately, there are currently a variety of products in stores prepared especially for those who want to avoid gluten. If you have a toaster and you are thinking of storing it because you will probably only eat polenta, this is not the case. You will find in stores breads, biscuits, buns and other bakery products from cereals allowed in the gluten-free diet.

Don't forget to always check that the word "Gluten-free" is written on the package or that it includes the symbol of the cut wheat ear, which has the same meaning. Otherwise, although it is not passed on to the ingredients, it can be present even by transfer, if the products have used the same manufacturing line with products that contain gluten.

 

Fats and miscellaneous

From this category you can consume everything that means vegetable oils (sunflower, olives, etc.), vegetable margarine and butter and lard and ham are also allowed. Among the products you still have in the kitchen, you can keep without problems and continue to use salt, pepper, wine vinegar, basal vinegar, herbs, yeast and spices purchased individually.

Less in order are the ready-made sauces you bought from the store, the spice cubes for the soup, the mixtures that include in the broth formula, the baking powder and the spice mixes, because you don't know exactly what else was added in the envelope. or jar.

1 Shares
0 replies on “What to eat for the gluten-free diet”